I Like To Move It, Move It (Okay, Not Really)

We moved house a lot when I was growing up – nine times, to be precise. In six years of marriage, this will be our third move (if you count moving in to our first home as a married couple). The second move happened when Poppet was on the cusp of two and Pixie was six weeks shy of being born.

For the record, I do not recommend moving house when you are nine months pregnant, especially when you have a very busy toddler as well.

Poppet handled that move very well. We started a big countdown chart a month prior to the move, and continued with it until Pixie was born. Poppet wandered into our room to sleep with us for about a week after the move, until she felt settled in the new house.

This time around, Poppet was four and Pixie was two. While Pixie’s sole interest was in unpacking the boxes as quickly as we packed them, Poppet had a lot more questions. “Why are we moving? Are we taking all our stuff? Are we taking all my toys? What about my bed? Is Napoleon coming? Are we all moving?”

I wasn’t as jacked with the countdown chart this time, but I wanted to do something to build excitement as Moving Day approached. So I came up with this idea: a house puzzle. Each day, the girls stuck another piece onto the house as they marked one less sleep until we moved.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The girls handled the move really well – possibly because we moved in with Nana and Grampa (and uncles and dogs and cat). They’re sharing a room, which is also working out better than I expected.

How many times have you moved house?

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: … And Then I Got Nominated For A Liebster Award | Caffeine and Fairydust

  2. Pingback: … And Then I Got Nominated For A Liebster Award

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

