7 Days of Love – Chocolate Hearts

What is Valentine’s Day without chocolate?

Every year I like to send a little something to school so that my girls can give their classmates a Valentine’s gift. Last year we did cookies; this year we made mini chocolate hearts.

The girls were curious about what “making chocolates” entailed, and more interested in eating the chocolate than in spooning melted chocolate into the moulds.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought the chocolate, heart moulds and foil at The Chocolate Den (on Linksfield Road in Edenvale). This is my favourite baking shop, partly because of its name, but also because they have absolutely everything you need there.

The girls each filled in one tray, then licked their spoons clean. I made the rest of the chocolates later.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

When they had all been made, I cut the foil into small squares and wrapped each chocolate. I did this while the girls were at school to avoid the whining for chocolate that I knew would happen if they were around.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

20 kids in each class. That’s a lot of chocolates.

I wrote a little note and stuck a chocolate on each.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Hopefully there’ll be a lot of smiling kids next Friday.

Do your kids make Valentine’s gifts for their friends?

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

