Surprisingly Delicious Chicken and Baby Marrow Pasta Bake

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Has it ever happened to you that at around 4pm, you open the grocery cupboard and realise it’s not quite as full as you thought it was? And then you remember that your plans to go grocery shopping never materialised for some reason?

It happens to me, more than I’m willing to admit.

The other day, I found myself rifling through the grocery cupboard, desperate to find something to feed my children because toast and cheese three nights in a row was not going to happen.

What I found: pasta twirls and a packet of Knorr Creamy Chicken soup (just one month past its Best Before date – what’s one measly month, right?) and some Mozarella cheese, baby marrows and chicken breasts in the fridge. (Look, you’ve got to give me credit for defrosting the chicken ahead of time. Technically, I had a plan. Chicken and . . . something.)

I chopped up the chicken into strips, tossed them in salt and pepper and fried them in olive oil while the pasta cooked.

Then I grated two baby marrows and mixed the soup powder with boiling water to make a thickish sauce.

I put the chicken, pasta, baby marrows and soup-sauce in a baking dish and mixed everything up nicely. Then I grated some Mozeralla cheese and sprinkled it on top, then put it in the oven for 15 minutes at 180°C.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I nervously presented it to my children, who promptly scarfed it down as if they hadn’t eaten in days. They didn’t drop dead, so Hubby and I had it for supper a bit later.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh. My. Word.

Delicious.

Seriously. You guys have got to try this dish.

Did you try it? Did you like it?

2 Comments

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

