Back To School

First day of school! First day of school!

Is there anyone more excited than a parent on the first day of school after several weeks holiday?

I’ve been trying to walk the line between talking about school enough to build excitement and talking about it too much to cause anxiety. This is Poppet’s third year at the school and Pixie’s first. A week ago I started a mini countdown with them so that today wouldn’t be too much of a surprise.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

They also got new princess lunchboxes for Christmas. Today’s snacks are yoghurt, Provitas, Mozarella cheese and a banana each.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I tried to get the obligatory First Day Of School photo but trying to get Poppet and Pixie to look at the camera at the same time is always a bit of a mission.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I was expecting snot en trane from Pixie, but when we walked into her class she went straight to the table and started playing with a puzzle. She didn’t react when I kissed her goodbye. It’s a promising start, but we’ll have to see what happens when the novelty wears off.

Poppet was eager to get to her class to see her friends, and shrugged out of my goodbye hug as fast as she could. Hmph.

How do you prepare your kids for the new school year?

4 Comments

  1. This will also be Kade,s 3rd year in school but he generally doesn’t adjust to change too well. He is already telling me that he doesn’t want to go to a new class and that he loves the yellow class and that the blue class is not for him so I am expecting a rough start to our school year. It’s always a fine line for me about prepping him cos it can backfire on me, so this year we’ve been saying it’s nearly school time etc. He will go tomorrow so tonight I will properly tell him and get him “ready”.

    We will see how it goes.

    xxx

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

