12 Days of Christmas – Jesus in the Manger

xday12-006

I saw this activity on the Happy Home Fairy’s blog when I was looking for Christmas craft inspiration. I thought it was a lovely idea and we adapted it slightly (because I could not find those shaped ice cream sticks anywhere!). We made 14 “Jesus packs” so that Poppet could give them to her classmates.

What you need: small ziploc bags, red and green cardboard, scissors, craft glue, verses (written or printed), ice cream sticks (or cardboard cut out in a swaddled-baby shape), felt, shredded brown paper.

I wrote out and coloured the verses, then stuck them on either red or green cardboard.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Poppet and Pixie glued the felt blanket on the baby Jesus.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

While we waited for the glue to dry, they put some “hay” into each ziploc bag. Their interest waned after the first few bags, so they disappeared to play and left me to finish on my own.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I put a verse into each bag. As I did this part, I realised it would have been easier to put the verse in before putting the “hay” in.

Finally, I put baby Jesus in the bag.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

What do you think of this craft?

2 Comments

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

