Somewhere over the rainbow nation (an ode to Eskom)

Image credit: ozziesaffa.blogspot.com

Image credit: ozziesaffa.blogspot.com

On Saturday morning, my girls had just started watching Epic when darkness descended on our part of the world. Eskom had struck again! “Where’s my movie?” Poppet yelled. “I want the movie!” Pixie cried.

“We’re loadshedding,” Hubby said. “There’s no electricity.”

“No electricity? Like the other night when we used candles? Can we use candles now?” Poppet stared hopefully at the TV.

“We can’t use candles to power the TV,” Hubby said.

“I want my movie!” Pixie’s cries turned into sobs. Poppet sat back on the couch in a huff. Hubby took a deep breath when he realised his iPhone battery was at 4%. And I remembered that way back in 2008, my friend, Mossie, and I wrote this little ditty.

I hope you have enough battery life on your device to read it to the end.

Somewhere over the rainbow nation (an ode to Eskom)
(with apologies to the original composers – blame the powers of darkness)

Somewhere over the rainbow nation
Way up high
There’s a land that I heard of
Once in a lullaby

Somewhere over the rainbow nation
There is light
And the power they’re using
Runs both day and night

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the stove is actually working
Where generators are not known
In every single house and home
Is where I’ll be lurking

Somewhere over the rainbow nation
Lights are on
Shining beyond the rainbow nation
Where, sadly, there are none

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the kettle’s actually boiling
Where gas stoves are not commonplace
And Eskom doesn’t mean disgrace
I’ll live rejoicing

Somewhere over the rainbow nation
They watch TV
TV over the rainbow nation
Why then, oh why, can’t we?

If they have electricity
Beyond the rainbow nation
Why, oh why, can’t we?

How do you handle living in these dark, dark days?

12 Comments

  1. I absolutely understand what you are going through. Just having the kids and the TV to keep you company, Eish, and then hubby comes home tired!!! When Carmia and Krischke were still small, I did not as well, and I dropped the kids at my parents once a week to meet with some friends or just go to aerobic classes just to have some adults to speak to. It worked!!

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

