5 Fun Birthday Traditions

Image credit: sxc.hu

Image credit: sxc.hu

Birthdays are big in Casa Zombie. And when I say big, I mean BIG. Not in the sense of going all out and partying until we drop, but big in the sense that we like to celebrate the person and the blessing that he or she is.

Here are some fun ideas for birthday traditions:

1. Birthday Week

When Hubby and I got started dating again in 2008 (a long story for another time) I instituted Birthday Week. (I like the idea of Birthday Month, which unfortunately isn’t going to happen until we’re millionaires.) Birthday Week is simply a celebration of the Birthday Boy/Girl for the entire week leading up to the actual birthday. We give a small gift on each day, nothing super fancy – just something that says, “You’re amazing and I love you.”

2. A special birthday meal

Weekday mornings are just a little bit chaotic in our house, so as much as breakfast in bed sounds like a good idea, it’s not really practical. The Birthday Boy/Girl gets to choose whatever they want for supper. Poppet and Pixie are getting to the ages where they have definite likes and dislikes, so I can see myself serving something like cornflakes or yoghurt for supper. (Maybe we’ll save this for when they’re a bit older and, hopefully, more reasonable with their meal requests.)

3. Princess for a day

What little girl doesn’t want to wear a tiara all day? Mine would do it all day, every day, if that was an option. Heck, so I would I. (I’m somewhat obsessed with Downton Abbey these days. I want to wear Edwardian dresses and tiaras and jewels and live in a castle. I wouldn’t mind being called m’lady, either.)

Image credit: sxc.hu

Image credit: sxc.hu

4. Birthday buttons

Party shops have bright buttons in various sizes with all sorts of birthday messages. And why wear it just for one day – if you’re doing birthday week, let them wear it all week!

5. Birthday countdown

This is especially exciting for younger kids as a way to help them “count the sleeps” before the big day. There are so many ways to do it – balloons to pop, paper chains, an actual calendar to mark off the dates . . .

Image credit: sxc.hu

Image credit: sxc.hu

Do you have any special birthday traditions?

4 Comments

Talk to me. Seriously. You have no idea how badly I'm craving adult conversation.

